Digital Grocery Stores.

Over the past 10+ years I’ve spent a fair amount of time in grocery stores. Not only as a consumer, but as a contract worker as well. Yes, I’ve been one of those people that you’ve seen working in the grocery aisle, re-arranging things on the shelves or doing Internet Shopping for people. There was even a brief period of time where we had begun a Local internet grocery shopping service out of a single grocery store, but I digress.

Grocery Store Tags.

The picture shows five, of probably 80,000 or more separate price tags that are throughout your local grocery store. In this specific picture, the tags are made of a heavy plastic type and have a sticky back that allows proper placement by the correct item. It’s also interesting to note that these tags, shown in the picture, aren’t generated locally or even by the Grocery store chain, rather are done off site by a third party, and then shipped to the local store.

This gets me wondering why hasn’t the grocery industry welcomed or embraced the digital age with digital price tags, and other digital video display ads. It occurs to me that the grocery store would be a prime location for just such a forward thinking company.

The grocery store that I grew up with, has changed little in the years in it’s structure or layout, and I still don’t look forward going to the grocery store. There are a few exceptions in recent years, that have made their mark in making changes to the grocery business. The trend towards eating a more healthy and natural diet has brought us Whole Foods and other “Natural Grocery Stores.” While being a breath of fresh air and a welcome change to the run of the mill grocery store, I’ve yet to see any company step up and think outside of the box regarding what is an institution for all of us in our daily lives.

Maybe the grocery store as we’ve know it will go the way of the dinosaurs. I look forward to someone or some company willing to WoW!, me and the rest of us with new and forward thinking about our grocery stores.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , ,

2 responses to “Digital Grocery Stores.

  1. Yeah, and it would be nice if those digital price tags could also offer additional info, like ingredients, glycemic index, trans fat content, whether meat was grain or grass fed, point of origin, etc., so you don’t have to squint at the tiny type on the label or make totally uninformed guesses. I’d love it if I could get my supermarket discount card encoded with things I want to know like ingredients I don’t want to eat, or to highlight locally produced food. If I could swipe it over a digital price tag and see the result, that would rock!

    - Amy Gahran

  2. Pingback: When your the only game in Town. | paulswansen.com

Leave a Reply

